Triquain Swirl

This is for a challenge from Magaly Guerrero and her wonderful blog located at http://magalyguerrero.com/dark-poetry-for-the-cruellest-month-2016/

I hope you enjoy!

This Cold Wind

This cold wind
Penetrates me like sin
What do you want me to remember?
Or are you reminding me that I should forget?
Paths that I have followed willingly
On me have no effect
No regret
But then again, I might
Into my own abyss I drug you
You came along high, soaring like a kite on air
Holding on to you was too damn hard
So I chose; let you go
I regret

About photoclark

Who am I? I ask myself that every day. But in reality I am just me.......
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Triquain Swirl

  1. Regret has to be one of the darkest and most bitter of emotions. It leaves us empty of what could’ve been, and angry at ourselves because we were the ones to make the choice to “let go”.

    Thank you for joining in! ♥

    • photoclark says:

      Thank you for accepting me. There are so many ways to express ourselves through words. I love that we can remember and touch that feeling we had, or the one we long to have. We can make light of the serious and mourn for the sad.

      🙏🏻

  2. georginamorley says:

    “reminding me to forget”….a time of realisation that can bring forgotten sadness and pain XXX

  3. Regret stays long after it is welcome even when the right thing was done in the long run. Very thoughtful piece!

  4. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Oh such a fiery & emotive write.

  5. whimsygizmo says:

    Oh, MAN. I really love the idea of the wind trying to remind me of something. Fantastic.

  6. photoclark says:

    Me too. I wrote this while literally walking a path in the cold wind. thank you for your comments.

  7. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    Oh, there’s a wonderful fierce wildness in this, despite (or part of?) the cold darkness and regret.

    • photoclark says:

      Every time I retread this I think differently. Do I regret the choice? Or do I regret she chose to sail away? Or do I regret dragging her into my life. I often wonder if my simple mind is more complex than I thought. Lol. Thank you for reading this.

  8. Khaya Ronkainen says:

    Cold wind can be painful to wade yet sobering. An opportunity to examine and forgive self.

Leave a Reply

